Portman Critic

The Portman Prize

The purpose of the Portman Prize and the Portman Visiting Critic Program is to foster design excellence and student creativity in the School of Architecture at Georgia Tech. Recognizing student accomplishment and excellence in the integration of technical considerations as a key constituent of the design process the Portman Prize is awarded through competition by a distinguished jury chaired by the Portman Visiting Critic who also participates over the semester as a roving design studio critic and public lecturer. The competition jury awards ranked prizes, each carrying monetary awards. The top prize winner is also offered a summer internship in the office of John Portman & Associates. 

Portman Visiting Critic

Julie Snow, FAIA has been named Portman Visiting Critic for 2015.  As Portman Visiting Critic, she will participate as a visiting critic, guest lecturer, and serve as jury chair for the selection of the Portman Prize. She will contribute to the School’s comprehensive graduate design studio integrating coursework in architectural and site design, construction technology, and the art of detail.

A graduate of the University of Colorado, Snow lived and worked abroad for several years before establishing a practice in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  She founded Julie Snow Architects in 1995 and now leads, along with Matt KreilichAIA, the studio-based practice, Snow KreilichArchitects. The studio’s diverse scale and type of work is joined by a common exploration of material and detail. Its interest in pragmatic and critical programmatic reflection results in innovative designs that expand the understanding of architectural performance. Design strategies engage issues of how architecture performs within each project's social, cultural, and economic context. Her portfolio includes many highly crafted, graceful, elegant, and responsive residences, commercial buildings, and institutional facilities.  The studio’s work has appeared in many professional journals, in several surveys of architecture, and at the Chicago Architectural Foundation.  In 2005, Princeton Architectural Press published the first monograph on the studio’s work in its series on emerging designers from around the world.

Snow has earned numerous awards, including national and international honors such as theAIA Honor Award, Holcim North American Award, Progressive Architecture Design Award, the Chicago Athenaeum’s American and International Architecture Awards, Architect Magazine Annual Design Review, the Design Distinction Award from I.D. magazine, Business Week/Architectural Record Awards, US General Services Administration's Design Excellence Awards and the 2014 AIA Minnesota Gold Award.  Additionally, Snow has held several visiting professor positions including the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University, the University of Arkansas, University of Maryland, Washington University, Syracuse University, and University of Southern California. After teaching at the University of Minnesota College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, she received the Ralph Rapson Award for Distinguished Teaching. She has lectured at the Buenos Aires Bienalle, the National Building Museum, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Walker Art Center, and at many universities including Harvard, Cornell, and Yale.

Portman Visiting Critics
2014 Laurie HawkinsonFAIA
2013 Jane WernickFREng Hon FRIBA FRSA CEngFIStructE FICE
2012 Maryann Thompson, FAIA
2011 Karl BackusAIA
2009 Margaret Crawford, PhD
2008 Jonathan Segal, FAIA
2007 Julie EizenbergAIA
2006 David Baker, FAIA (Visiting Critic)
2006 Jorge Silvetti (Jury Chair)
2005 Teddy Cruz
2004 Jeff Speck, AICP
2003 Gregg PasquarelliAIA
2002 Lily Chi
2001 Lindy Roy
2000 Lawrence Speck, FAIA

Portman Prize History

The Portman Prize and Portman Visiting Critic Program has been generously supported since 2000 by the Atlanta firm of John Portman & Associates, Inc. Portman is an internationally recognized architectural and engineering firm with a team of more than 40 professionals and offices in Atlanta, Georgia and Shanghai, China. Established in 1953, Portman has over 50 years of expertise in designing hotels, universities, offices, trade marts, and mixed-use urban complexes around the world. Vision, creativity, and an entrepreneurial spirit are the fundamentals of their human-centered design philosophy. Georgia Tech is proud to be a partner with Portman in advancing these values through the Portman Prize.

Map of Georgia Tech

Georgia Institute of Technology
North Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30332
Phone: 404-894-2000